Andrew Montgomery (Ex Geneva) Music

Andrew Montgomery (Ex Geneva)

  • Date

    Monday 30 March 2015

  • venue

    The Lemon Tree

  • time

    Doors 7.30pm | Finish 9.50pm

  • age


  • price

    £8.80 inc. bf

  • genre


Plus support by Uniform and Calum Busby

Geneva were signed to Sony and scored 4 UK Top 40 hits and a top 20 album between 1996 and 2000. Andrew was critically adored by the press for his voice, garnering comparisons to Harriet Wheeler, Liz Fraser and Smokey Robinson.

Andrew's début solo album Ruled By Dreams was released last month to wide acclaim from Uncut (7/10), Q (4 stars) and Scottish Herald & Times plus press in The Scottish Sun, Glasgow Evening News and radio play for single "Sorry Someday" on BBC Radio 2, BBC 6 Music, BBC Radio Scotland, XFM Scotland and Amazing Radio.

“One of the finest singers Scotland has produced since the late, great Billy is such a thrill to hear his angelic vocals again, with songs that veer from dark electro to brooding torch songs.” Jim Gellatly, The Sun

“Montgomery’s extraordinary voice sounds even more affecting and assured than ever. Crucially, the songs are precisely what that voice deserves…beauty itself.” John Aizlewood, Q

“This sumptuous solo debut gives Montgomery the Rufus Wainwright-sized drama queen treatment he deserves. A fine comeback by an underrated talent.” Stephen Dalton, Uncut

“Breathtaking…like Jimmy Somerville meets Jeff Buckley, in church. Will make every hair on your body stand on end.” Chris Hawkins, BBC 6 Music.

With a unique voice that’s equal parts choirboy and soul boy, Andrew Montgomery made waves in the Britpop era as frontman of Scottish band Geneva, scoring four emotive Top 40 singles (‘Tranquillizer’, ‘No-One Speaks’, ‘Best Regrets’, 'Into the Blue’) and releasing two critically feted albums (‘Further' and 'Weather Underground’) between 1996 and 2001.

After a decade of silence, Andrew Montgomery returns with his début solo album Ruled By Dreams. Released on 5th October 2014. Ruled By Dreams is an album of seraphic modern pop that's as sensual as it is confessional, with Andrew’s unique three octave voice placed front and centre.

Ruled By Dreams was produced by Sean McGhee (Robyn, Imogen Heap, Alison Moyet.) The album features Suede guitarist Richard Oakes, Röyksopp & Schiller collaborator Kate Havnevik plus contributions from Ben Ellis (Catherine Wheel, Serafin) and Jody Gadsden & Simon Neilson from Autoheart (best known for their 2013 singles ‘Moscow’ & ‘The Sailor Song’.)

The album gets a worldwide digital release on Andrew’s own Ruled By Dreams imprint on 6th October 2014 via AWAL. A limited CD edition will be available exclusively from

Post a review