BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

BBC SSO Aberdeen 2013/2014

American Classics

BarberAdagio For Strings (c.8')
Barber Violin Concerto (c.22')
Copland Symphony No.3 (c.42')

Sarah Chang Violin
David Alan Miller Conductor
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

Three pages from American history. Samuel Barber's Adagio for Strings may have begun life in a neglected string quartet, but it's become one of those rare pieces that echo the heartbeat of a nation. On the eve of war, that same blossoming lyricism made Barber's Violin Concerto an instant modern classic, its glorious tunes perfect for the gleaming tone of Sarah Chang.

And seven years and a victory later, Aaron Copland saluted a new era in a symphony of blue skies and boundless optimism, crowned by - what else? - a Fanfare for the Common Man.Is this the Great American Symphony? Expect the roof of The Music Hall to be blown off as Albany Symphony Orchestra music director David Alan Miller makes a powerful case for it!

Post a review