BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra: The Runnicles Birthday Concert Classical

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra: The Runnicles Birthday Concert

BBC Scottish Symphony Orhestra: The Runnicles Birthday Concert

Beethoven’s Ninth

Mozart Sinfonia concertante, k.364 (c.32 mins)
Symphony No.9 ‘Choral’ (c.68 mins)

Laura Samuel violin
Scott Dickinson
Angela Meade
Elizabeth Bishop
Stuart Skelton
Marko Mimica
Edinburgh Festival Chorus
Christopher Bell
chorus master
Donald Runnicles

A special occasion calls for a very special concert – and from the epic tragedy of its opening to its transcendent final Hymn to Joy, Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony has long been classical music’s supreme act of celebration. So what better way for the BBC SSO to toast Donald Runnicles’ 60th birthday than with the work at the very centre of his beloved German Romantic tradition?

First, though, two of the orchestra’s principal players begin the festivities with one of the few pieces that can truly look Beethoven in the eye: Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante, music of sublime grandeur and heart-rending beauty.

Post a review