Royal Scottish National Orchestra (RSNO) Jan 2015 Classical

Royal Scottish National Orchestra (RSNO) Jan 2015

Buniatishvili plays Liszt

Schumann Overture, Scherzo and Finale
Liszt Piano Concerto No 2
Wagner Siegfried Idyll
Schumann Symphony No 1 ‘Spring’
Christoph Altstaedt Conductor
Khatia Buniatishvili Piano

Robert Schumann’s symphonies are more like love stories. His ‘Spring’ symphony positively bubbles over with happiness – and he couldn’t even bring himself to call his Overture, Scherzo and Finale a symphony at all. Guest conductor Christoph Altstaedt has this music in his blood, and he will bring the same Romantic ardour to Wagner’s tender musical love-letter, and a barnstorming concerto by classical music’s first global megastar: Franz Liszt. Khatia Buniatishvili will make it look easy. Don’t be fooled!

Pre-concert talk 6.45pm RSNO Executive Producer, Manus Carey in conversation with
Christoph Altstaedt.

Post a review