Scottish Chamber Orchestra (SCO): Emmanuel Krivine conducts Brahms Symphony No.4 Classical

Scottish Chamber Orchestra (SCO): Emmanuel Krivine conducts Brahms Symphony No.4

Mendelssohn    Hebrides Overture
Schumann        Violin Concerto
Brahms             Symphony No 4

Emmanuel Krivine   Conductor
Alina Ibragimova       Violin

With regret, SCO Principal Conductor Robin Ticciati has had to withdraw from the final concerts of the SCO Brahms Series due to illness. Ticciati is suffering from a herniated disc and is unable to travel so has had to cancel all engagements until the end of March. The SCO wishes him a speedy recovery.

The Orchestra are very grateful to their Principal Guest Conductor Emmanuel Krivine who will replace Robin Ticciati in these concerts. Repertoire in both concerts will remain unchanged, except the Widmann Ikarische Klage which will be replaced with Mendelssohn’s ‘Hebrides’ Overture.

Brahms was an utterly romantic, secretive, self-critical and revolutionary composer, who inspired many including Schoenberg and Stravinsky. He was, however, fundamentally conservative, drawing inspiration from Bach and Beethoven. Symphony No 4 closes with a passacaglia directly modelled on Bach. The back-story of criticism and suppression of Schumann’s majestic Violin Concerto is at last fading in the face of genuine fascination. Russian-born Alina Ibragimova is a persuasive advocate of the work.

Post a review