Scottish Chamber Orchestra (SCO) Jan 2015 Classical

Scottish Chamber Orchestra (SCO) Jan 2015

Beethoven Piano Concerto No 2

Stravinsky      Concerto in Re
Mozart            Sinfonia Concertante
Mozart            Symphony No 31 'Paris'
Beethoven      Piano Concerto No 2

Alexander Janiczek   violin/director
Llŷr Williams  piano
Jane Atkins     viola

A tale of four cities here: Paris, Salzburg, Vienna and Hollywood. Stravinsky’s infectiously dancy concerto was made in the USA but every single punchy, rhythmic bar is inspired by Bach.

A pair of sublime Mozart works from 1778-79 offers a snapshot of the young composer in Paris – where his symphony was an immediate hit – and Salzburg where he wrote the sublime Sinfonia Concertante. Mozart himself longed for Vienna, and so did Beethoven as he wrote his first concerto (called No 2 because it was published second). When he finally arrived, Mozart was both a prospective teacher and his biggest competitor.

Post a review