Scottish Chamber Orchestra (SCO) Nov 2014 Classical

Scottish Chamber Orchestra (SCO) Nov 2014

Scottish Chamber Orchestra

Beethoven Piano Concerto No 1

Stravinsky    Concertino for 12 Instruments
Violin Concerto No 3
Piano Concerto No 1

Alexander Janiczek   Violin/director
Llŷr Williams              Piano

6.45pm Pre-Concert Talk in Conversation with Llyr Williams

Williams and Janiczek bring a wonderful spirit of camaraderie and chamber music to the SCO stage: no surprise as they have appeared as a duo for well over a decade now. They offer two programmes of Beethoven and Mozart this season), both including music that the composers wrote for themselves to play.

Both concertos are wondrous, youthful masterworks that set out to entertain, move, impress and engage: these were young people on the make! Stravinsky’s Concertino is actually a tiny violin concerto – intimate, detailed and perfectly formed.

Post a review