Scottish Chamber Orchestra (SCO) Schumann

Scottish Chamber Orchestra (SCO) Schumann

Schumann Symphonies 1 & 4
Saturday 23 November 2013 - 7.30pm
Scottish Chamber Orchestra

SCHUMANN Symphony No 1 ‘Spring’
Piano Concerto No 25 in C K503
Symphony No 4 in D minor

Robin Ticciati Conductor
Paul Lewis

Robin Ticciati has often spoken about how important poetry, colour and story are to his music-making – and this makes Schumann one of his perfect composers. “I’m going to spend a lot more time with him next year…” Robin Ticciati hinted last year. Now we can reveal exactly what he meant: following this concert he will record a full cycle of the Schumann symphonies with the Orchestra.

Symphonies preoccupied Schumann throughout his 30s; the first took just four days to be born, others cost him years of effort. Together they stand as grand, profound and very pleasurable legacy. Schumann also had a great love of Mozart so his Piano Concerto No 25 played by the brilliant Paul Lewis rounds off this concert.

Schumann once wrote: “Music — so different from painting — is the art which we enjoy most in company with others.” Come and share in what promises to be one of the highlights of the Season.

Post a review