Quick Guide to Accessible Performances Summer 2015 Brochure

We aim to have accessible performances available for as many of our performances at HMT as possible, in order to reach as large an audience as possible. We have a limited number of discounted tickets available held off sale for our customers who require use of these services, please contact our box office supervisor if you wish to purchase one of these tickets.

Signed Language Interpretation
Performances that are sign interpreted for the profoundly deaf by professional signers using British Sign Language, signed by Lesley Crerar. View our Summer 2015 BSL Brochure above.

Audio Described Performances
Audio Description is a service for the visually impaired or blind where a description of the set and costumes is combined with a commentary on the action to bring the show to life. His Majesty’s uses Aberdeen Audio Describers Association. They have a team of 10 volunteers who provide this service. An infared headset is required to make use of this service; these are provided by our FOH team and can be requested on the day.

Touch Tours (precedes Audio Described Performance)
Touch tours are offered by the Theatre to people with a visual impairment, they enable the visually impaired to experience the stage, feel the set, props and costumes which helps build a picture of the play when listening to the Audio Description. Touch Tour take place 1 hour prior to most audio described performances.

Captioned Performances
Captioned performances take place at His Majesty’s Theatre and The Lemon Tree and are similar to television subtitling. The actor’s words appear on a display unit (or screens) on or near the stage at the same time as they are spoken or sung. Speaker names, sound effects and offstage noises.

The Mousetrap
Signed: Thursday 30 April, 7.30pm
Audio Described: Saturday 2 May, 2.30pm
Captioned: Friday 1 May, 7.30pm

Wicked
Signed: Thursday 21 May, 7.30pm
Audio Described: Saturday 23 May, 2.30pm
Captioned: Saturday 23 May, 2.30pm

Calamity Jane
Signed: Thursday 4 June, 7.30pm
Audio Described: Saturday 6 June, 2.30pm
Captioned: Saturday 6 June, 2.30pm

ll Trovatone
Audio Described: Saturday 13 June, 7.30pm (Audio description by Scottish opera)

Anything Goes
Signed: Thursday 23rd July, 7.30pm
Audio Described: Saturday 25 July, 2.30pm
Captioned: Saturday 25 July, 2.30pm

Dirty Dancing
Signed: Thursday 24 September, 7.30pm
Audio Described: Saturday 26 September, 2.30pm
Captioned: Saturday 26 September, 2.30pm

Shawshank Redemption | New to Summer 2015 Season
Signed: Thursday 15 October, 7.30pm
Audio Described: Saturday 17 October 2.30pm
Captioned: Saturday 17 October, 2.30pm

Rebecca | New to Summer 2015 Season
Signed: Thursday 29 October, 7.30pm
Audio Described: Saturday 31 October, 2.30pm
Captioned: Saturday 31 October, 2.30pm

And Then There Were None | New to Summer 2015 Season
Signed: Thursday 5 November, 7.30pm
Audio Described: Saturday 7th November, 2.30pm
Captioned: Saturday 7 November, 2.30pm

Jesus Christ Superstar | New to Summer 2015 Season
Signed: Wednesday 11 November, 7.30pm
Audio Described: Saturday 14 November, 2.30pm
Captioned: Saturday 14 November, 2.30pm

Peter Pan (Panto)
Signed: Thursday 17 December, 7pm
Audio Described: Saturday 19 December, 2.30pm
Captioned: Saturday 19 December, 2.30pm
Relaxed Performance: Monday 21 December, 1pm | £10.50 per ticket

A Murder Is Announced: A Miss Marple Mystery | New to Summer 2015 Season
Signed: Thursday 28th January 2016, 7.30pm
Audio Described: Saturday 30th January 2016, 2.30pm
Captioned: Saturday 30th January 2016, 2.30pm

Hairspray
Signed: Thursday 4 February 2016, 7.30pm
Audio Described: Saturday 6 February 2016, 2.30pm
Captioned: Saturday 6 February 2016, 2.30pm

Dirty Rotten Scoundrels | New to Summer 2015 Season
Audio Described: Saturday 13 February 2016, 2.30pm
Captioned: Saturday 13 February 2016, 2.30pm

Priscilla Queen of the Desert | New to Summer 2015 Season
Audio Described: Saturday 5 March 2016, 2.30pm
Captioned: Saturday 5 March 2016, 2.30pm

An Inspector Calls | New to Summer 2015 Season
Signed: Thursday 17 March 2016, 7.30pm
Audio Described: Saturday 19 March 2016, 2.30pm
Captioned: Saturday 19 March 2016, 2.30pm

Avenue Q | New to Summer 2015 Season
Signed: Thursday 31 March 2016, 7.30pm
Audio Described: Saturday 2 April 2016, 2.30pm
Captioned: Saturday 2 April 2016, 2.30pm

Annie | New to Summer 2015 Season
Signed: Thursday 12 May 2016, 7.30pm
Audio Described: Saturday 14 May 2016, 2.30pm
Captioned: Saturday 14 May 2016, 2.30pm

 

If you wish to discuss your access requirements or have any queries on the above services please contact the box office on 01224 337605 or email supervisors@aberdeenperformingarts.com. Alternatively you can contact Lynn Hackett, Customer Service Manager on 01224 337619 or email at lynn.hackett@aberdeenperformingarts.com

Posted on Thursday 16 April

write a comment