The MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards
The MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards
Limited Availability

The MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards

  • Monday 1 January 0001 - Saturday 7 December 2019

  • Music Hall

  • 7pm

  • £27.50

  • Music, Ceilidh, Events & Festivals

Known as the Folk Oscars, the 2019 MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards come to the Music Hall for 2019. Presented by Mary Ann Kennedy and Kim Carnie, the high impact evening of awards decided by industry experts will include exciting live music performances by Skerryvore, the current BBC Radio Scotland Young Musician of the year, Benedict Morris, Heisk, Aberdeenshire Youth Band, Kris Drever, Sian and Robyn Stapleton.
Also punctuating the renowned annual Awards ceremony which famously has the audience up on its feet will be Session A9, Mairi Campbell and the Pendulum Band (of Sex and the City’s Auld Lang Syne fame), and Susan MacFadyen Scottish Dance Band.
Broadcast live on BBC ALBA across the world, The Awards give recognition to excellence within Scotland's thriving musical culture, encompassing all aspects of traditional music from Gaelic Song, Folk, Scottish Dance music, to Pipe Bands and a host of others in between.

From October The Scots Trad Music Awards will generate over 100,000 public votes across 18 categories including: Album of The Year, Live Act of the Year, Gaelic and Scots Singer of the Year, Composer of Year and Instrumentalist of the Year etc.

For up‐to date news and further details visit:

Award nominees:

Album of the Year sponsored by Birnam CD
1. Beyond, by Talisk
2. Drawn From Deep Water, by Gnoss
3. Free One, by Kinnaris Quintet
4. Frenzy of the Meeting, by Breabach
5. Laws Of Motion, by Karine Polwart, Steven Polwart & Inge Thomson
6. Mercury, by Siobhan Miller
7. Neath the Gloaming Star, by Hannah Rarity
8. Steer By The Stars, by Skipinnish
9. The Reeling, by Brìghde Chaimbeul
10. What Makes You, by Elephant Sessions
Belhaven Bursary for Innovation
1. Breabach
2. Kinnaris Quintet
3. Lau
4. Niteworks
5. Ross Ainslie
6. Rura
7. Karine Polwart
8. Project Smok
9. Fara
10. Treacherous Orchestra
Club of the Year, sponsored by Traditional Arts and Culture Scotland (TRACS)
1. Largs Folk Nights
2. Sutherland Sessions 
3. Button and Bows Accordion and Fiddle club
4. Montrose Folk Club
Composer of the Year, sponsored by PRS for Music
1. Catriona Hawksworth
2. Hayley Keenan
3. Jenna Reid
4. Mischa MacPherson
Community Project of the Year
1. Blazin’ in Beauly 
2. Kin in the community
3. SEALL Festival of Small Halls held on Skye last November. 
4. Bogha Frois 
Event of the Year, sponsored by VisitScotland
1. Scotland at Lorient - Fèis Rois
2. Tiree Music Festival
3. Alba Choir at Eurovision
4. Under Canvas in partnership with Eden Court
Gaelic Singer of the Year, sponsored by The Highland Society of London
1. Brian O’Headra
2. Ceitlin Lilidh
3. Kim Carnie
4. Mary Ann Kennedy
Musician of the Year, sponsored by The University of the Highlands and Islands
1. Adam Sutherland
2. Jenn Butterworth
3. Paul Anderson
4. Ross B Wilson
5. Signy Jakobsdottir
6. Tom Oakes
Live Act of the Year, sponsored by Greentrax Recordings
1. Peat and Diesel
2. Rura
3. Talisk
4. Fara
5. The Outside Track
Citty Finlayson Scots Singer of the Year, sponsored by Traditional Music and Song Association Award
1. Amy Papiransky
2. Dougie Mackenzie
3. Steve Byrne
4. Fiona Ross
Scottish Dance Band of the Year, sponsored by National Association of Accordion and Fiddle Clubs
1. The Cruickshank Family Band
2. Ewan Galloway Scottish Dance Band
3. Gary Sutherland Scottish Dance Band
4. Scott Band Scottish Dance Band
Scottish Folk Band of the Year, sponsored by Threads of Sound
1. Blazin Fiddles
2. Dallahan
3. Iona Fyfe Trio
4. Tannahill Weavers
Scottish Pipe Band of the Year, sponsored by the Gordon Duncan Memorial Trust
1. Renfrewshire Schools Pipe Band
2. Inverary and District Pipe Band
3. Closkelt Pipe Band
4. Dollar Academy
Trad Video of the Year 
1. Fair Weather Beggar by Claire Hastings
2. Heroes – Tide Lines
3. Hope in the Chaos by Ross Ainslie and Malcolm Jones
4. Playlist East West by Shooglenifty featuring Tanxugueiras

Music Tutor of the Year, sponsored by Creative Scotland's Youth Music Initiative
1. Claire Gullan
2. Iain Ruari Finlayson, Skye Schools
3. Ingrid Henderson
4. Louise Hunter
5. Sharon Hassan
Up and Coming Artist of the Year, sponsored by Royal Conservatoire of Scotland
1. Calum Jones and the trad project
2. Dlù
3. Hecla
4. Man of the Minch
Venue of the Year, sponsored by Musicians' Union 
1. An Tobar (Mull)
2. Soundhouse at the Traverse (Edinburgh)
3. St Margaret’s Braemar
4. The String Cafe (Lerwick)