Skip to main content

Royal Scottish National Orchestra (RSNO): Mozart Clarinet Concerto

  • Music Hall


Sibelius Karelia Overture
Mozart Clarinet Concerto K622
Vaughan Williams Symphony No5

Rory Macdonald Conductor
Timothy Orpen Clarinet
Royal Scottish National Orchestra

Vaughan Williams’ Fifth Symphony is a rapturous vision of optimism and peace. Recently voted the greatest of all British symphonies, it’s an inspirational way to return to live performance for the Royal Scottish National Orchestra, especially coming after the elemental power and epic Scandinavian vistas of Sibelius’ stirring overture. Rory Macdonald conducts, and one of the RSNO’s own stars – clarinettist Timothy Orpen – plays Mozart’s lovely Clarinet Concerto. Music to refresh the spirit.

Recommended by Classic FM