Skip to main content

SCO: Mendelssohn Piano Concerto with Benjamin Grosvenor

  • Music Hall
  • Aberdeen Concert Series 23-24


SCO: Mendelssohn Piano Concerto with Benjamin Grosvenor

BRAHMS                                        Tragic Overture
MENDELSSOHN                         Piano Concerto No. 1
SCHUMANN                                 Symphony No.4

Maxim Emelyanychev           conductor
Benjamin Grosvenor              piano

Championed by Franz Liszt, and inspired by unrequited love, Mendelssohn’s sparkling First Piano Concerto is something of an overlooked masterpiece – but the electrifying British pianist Benjamin Grosvenor is just the musician to reveal its fiery virtuosity as well as its delicate, Chopin-like beauty.

Maxim Emelyanychev contrasts Mendelssohn’s brilliance with the turbulent drama and high emotions of Brahms’ gripping Tragic Overture, as well as Schumann’s most original Symphony. Celebrating his longed-for marriage to his beloved Clara Wieck, No.4 plunges you into deep drama and stormy emotions before its joyful, exhilarating conclusion.

Kindly supported by The Usher Family


£32 - £14

Aberdeen Concert Series

Book three or more concerts Aberdeen Concert Series and save up to 30% on the cost of standard tickets.