Skip to main content

University of Aberdeen Symphony Orchestra & Aberdeen University Concert Band

  • Music Hall


University of Aberdeen Symphony Orchestra & Aberdeen University Concert Band

Jean Sibelius Lemminkäinen’s Return
Kaija Saariaho Ciel d’hiver (Winter Sky)
Ludwig van Beethoven Symphony No. 8 in F major

University of Aberdeen Symphony Orchestra
Chris Collins Conductor

Rossano Galante Transcendent Journey
Frank Ticheli Loch Lomond
Clara-Jane Maunder Get in the Groove
Osamu Shoji Disco Kid
Hirotaka Izumi Omens of Love
Various composers Bond … James Bond
Various composers Disney at the Movies

Aberdeen University Concert Band
Sam Paul Conductor

Two concerts for the price of one! Join the massed instrumental forces of the University of Aberdeen to celebrate the return of live performance in two programmes of uplifting music including new discoveries and old favourites.

The University Symphony Orchestra marks its own return with Sibelius’s intensely exciting tone-poem Lemminkäinen’s Return. Kaija Saariaho’s magical Winter Night provides an richly atmospheric interlude before a performance of Beethoven’s most joyful symphony: a work of great exuberance, wit and mirth.

The second half charts Aberdeen University Concert Band’s transcendent journey over the past two years, including music originally programmed for their cancelled concert in March 2020, works rehearsed virtually over lockdown, and music celebrating the present – including a brand new work by Clara-Jane Maunder and a James Bond medley to tie in with the latest film.

Keeping You Safe

Everything you need to know before your visit

Keeping You Safe