Skip to main content

BBC SSO: Elgar Symphony No2

  • Music Hall
  • BBC SSO 22/23 Season


BBC SSO: Elgar Symphony No2

WALTON                                               Cello Concerto (c.44 mins)
ELGAR                                                   Symphony No.2 (c.55 mins)

Laura van der Heijden                 cello
Ryan Wigglesworth                       conductor

Elgar called his Second Symphony ‘the passionate pilgrimage of a soul’ and some people think it’s his greatest, the composer at his most vulnerable and revealing, as its bouncing swagger gives way to music of haunting beauty and deep emotion. Our Chief Conductor Ryan Wigglesworth closes the season with this huge work which just bursts with feeling and orchestral colour. But before then, let 2012’s BBC Young Musician, Laura van der Heijden, delight you with Walton’s vigorous and heartfelt Cello Concerto.

The youthful energy and virtuosity of her playing surely makes her the perfect soloist for this work, thought by the composer’s wife to be a portrait of their marriage.


*£6 tickets are available for Students, Under 26s and Unemployed (Price Band C & D).


£27.00 - £15.00


Friends’ discounts:

£2 off

Special Offer

Special Offer

Book all 5 BBC SSO 22/23 seascon concerts and get 20% off

Offer open until Friday 30 September 2022 only. Offer only applies to full price tickets